Forthcoming byelections

Here are the vacancies and forthcoming byelections:

20 November

27 November

4 December

11 December

  • East Ayrshire council: Ballochmyle ward, after the resignation of former Labour group leader Eric Jackson. Term ends 2011.
  • Fenland district council: Parsons Drove and Wisbech St Mary ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Phil Wait in protest at a licensing decision. Term ends 2011.
  • Hillingdon borough council: Northwood ward, after the disqualification of Ian Oakley who was given an 18-week suspended sentence for harassing members of the Liberal Democrats in Watford where he had been selected as Conservative candidate. Oakley had been expelled from the Conservatives and was sitting on the council as an Independent. Term ends 2010.
  • Corporation of London: Aldgate ward, after the resignation of John Holland. Should the nomination be opposed at the wardmote, the poll will be on the following day. Term ends March 2009.
  • Newark and Sherwood district council: Clipstone ward, after the death of Len Sprigg who was deputy leader of the Independent group. Term ends 2011.
  • North Ayrshire council: Kilbirnie and Beith ward, after the death of SNP councillor Craig Taylor. Term ends 2012.

18 December


Vacancies which will not be filled

The Local Elections (Ordinary Day of Elections in 2009) Order 2008 (SI 2008 No. 2857) provides that any vacancy notified after 7 November 2008 in a council due to have elections in 2009, or to be abolished will not be filled. These council vacancies will therefore not see a byelection.


14 thoughts on “Forthcoming byelections

  1. Arwen Folkes LibDem councillor for Bodmin St Petrocs ward on North Cornwall DC has resigned . There will not be a byelection .

  2. Andy Sloan the Conservative councillor for Drypool ward on Hull BC has announced his intention to resign . He defected from the LibDems but has not attended a council meeting for 5 months .

  3. The Deputy mayor of Walsall has sadly died.
    Councillor Kath Micklewright had served Rushall-Shelfield ward since it was created in 2004.

  4. Enfield LBC has announced the sad death of Councillor Chris Andrew at the young age of 31 after battling cancer.He was councillor for Jubilee Ward

  5. Peter Timms Conservative Councillor for Wombourne ward on Staffs CC has sadly died .
    Sue Adams Conservative Councillor for Newent Central ward on Forest Of Dean DC has resigned .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s